The Faith of One…

or just his own beliefs…

Launch Out Into The Deep…

Posted by onemansbeliefs on November 29, 2010

“And he entered into one of the ships, which was Simon’s, and prayed him that he would thrust out a little from the land.  And he sat down, and taught the people out of the ship.  Now when he had left speaking, he said unto Simon, Launch out into the deep, and let down your nets for a draught.” Luke 5:3-4

I wonder what people think when they hear the phrase “launch out into the deep.”  I’ve been (not sure about others) taught that Jesus expects me to step out and get in over my head.  To go beyond my level of security and the firm foundation of that with which I am familiar.  This will put me in a position where I will have to rely on him completely.  This is what I believed and it left me not wanting to hear from Jesus.

However, this is a story about the goodness of God.  He used Peter’s boat to assist Him in the preaching of the Gospel and rewarded Peter handsomely in return.  I’ve always liked the thought of the net breaking harvest, but had trouble wanting to launch out into the deep.  Stepping into the unknown brings with it apprehension, anxiousness and fear.  This is where I was having trouble.  I understand the goodness of God and trusting in Jesus, but why would either cause me to be surrounded by feelings that are from neither.

If launching out makes me feel uncomfortable and I’m getting it second-hand, I wondered how Peter must have felt when he was told to do so by Jesus, Himself.  Back to the story…

“And Simon answering said unto him, Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net.” Luke 5:5

Just like I thought, Peter’s response is filled with fear and trepidation.

Wait…

Peter did not experience any of the feelings I feel when told to launch out into the deep.  Why?  All Jesus told Peter to do was “go back to work.”  This may be the key to us receiving our harvest.  If you own a business, work a little extra when it seems like there will be no result.  If you work for someone, work a little overtime at no charge to your employer.

So, don’t be afraid when you hear Jesus say, “Launch out into the deep.”

Leave a Reply

 
