The Faith of One…

or just his own beliefs…

Halves or Quarters?

Posted by onemansbeliefs on June 5, 2009

Many years ago the Mrs. was making me a salad for dinner and she was almost done, but there was one final detail that needed to be ironed out.  She asked me if I would like the boiled eggs cut in half or quartered.
 
Before I get to my response let me explain some things about salads at our house.  They are not an easy way to avoid cooking meals.  They are creations which involve great amounts of time and effort.  Preparation time can easily reach into the hours (so grateful the Mrs. does much of this).  I’m not talking about wimpy salads like egg, tuna, 3 bean (relax, I like these, but they have no place in this blog) or even that party favorite , the dreaded 7 layer salad (too Martha Stewartish).
 
The 2 versions of salads that dominate in our house are lettuce and pasta.  These creations are very similar in design and construction.  In fact, they are identical except for 1 ingredient.  The 2 interchangeable items are romaine and fettucini.  The remaining constituents are chosen for a number of reasons including taste, color and texture.  Allow me to list some of these here (in no particular order): red bell peppers, yellow bell peppers, garbanzo beans, green peas, water chestnuts, broccoli, spinach, boiled eggs, cheddar cheese, monterey jack cheese, dark red kidney beans and a ground up mixture of almonds, flax seeds and sunflower seeds (it adds a nutty flavor and is healthy (the Mrs. choice)).
 
Should we be having the pasta version of this dish, we make the pasta the day before.  It is cooked, covered with generous amounts of ranch dressing and allowed to cool in the refrigerator over night.  The next day all the items are mixed together with additional ranch dressing for flavor and as a gluing agent.  All this takes time and effort, but is well worth the end result.
 
Okay, back to the question about the boiled eggs.  The Mrs. was just about finished with the salads and she asked if I would like them cut in halves or quarters.  I responded halves.  There was no effort on my part in formulating a response to this question.  If she asked if I would like them in quarters or halves, I believe quarters would have been my answer.  A few minutes later, I received the salad and the eggs had been cut in quarters and placed nicely in the dish.
 
It seems that the Mrs. and I had a failure to communicate.  Sure, we used words and understood what each was saying, but the final product failed to represent what was expected.  When asked, she stated the salad was more aesthetically pleasing with the eggs in quarters and she didn’t think I would mind.  I didn’t.  However, this got me to thinking about details.
 
Luke 12:6-7 “Are not five sparrows sold for two farthings, and not one of them is forgotten before God?  But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  Fear not therefore: Ye are of more value than many sparrows.”
 
It has been said that God is in the details and I believe this to be true.  If details are important to him, they should be important to me.  The Mrs. and I paid attention to the details where the salad above was concerned, but failed elsewhere.  We failed to consider each other.  I failed to think before answering a question she posed to me.  She failed to honor the answer I gave.  In some marriages this would be enough to start divorce proceedings.
 
This one insignificant moment in our lives has been a great learning experience of us.  It has given us a perspective that has made our marriage even better.  In this case, which is more important, the salad or the one making the salad?  Simple?  Maybe.  However, I believe that if more people had learned this lesson early in their marriage they would still be married.
 
The Mrs. and I continue to enjoy our moment of halves or quarters and are extremely grateful that we learned this over a couple eggs and not over a weekend with strippers and cocaine…
3 Responses to “Halves or Quarters?”

  1. This is a great blog, in that when you said you wanted ONE thing, but your wife did it the other way. You know that would start a fight in most homes (including in my place) but you are a better man & accepted the fact that your Mrs. had other ideas about your salad. You are a great man to not make a big deal out of this.

    Sacrifice, love & patience, as well as other things are what make a marriage work. That and attempting to get along with the inlaws.

  2. Steven333 said

    Great blog Gaines. In my house my answer would have been, “I don’t care”, which is why my marraige didn’t last.

  3. Sweet said

    beautiful blog and a great reminder to really listen and consider each other

Leave a Reply

 
